The Great Deception

Seconds Before Landing

"Seconds Before Landing", was formed by musician and composer John Crispino. The 14 track concept album, entitled "The Great Deception" features original music from Crispino, and has guest talents, "King Crimsons" Trey Gunn and legendary bassist, Tim Bogert.

Seconds Before Landing Releases Full-Length Album: The Great Deception

UNITED STATES – Seconds Before Landing, the ambient rock collective formed by composer and musician John Crispino, has released its first full-length album. The 14-track concept album, entitled The Great Deception, features original music from Crispino, as well as a number of guest talents from notable musical followings.

The Great Deception follows the conceptual idea of a dystopian world, set not far into the future. Drawing on elements from science fiction, the album paints a story of a post-apocalyptic planet that has been torn and shaped by war, corruption and malevolence. Within this ravished world, a single man comes to terms with his surroundings, experiencing new emotions over the course of the album. With each passing song on this 14-track album comes a new message, delivered metaphorically through the struggles of this surviving man.

“There are a number of themes within this album that are very powerful and I’ve put them together in this story about what the world would be like if everything simply went awry,” said John Crispino, Composer and Lead Musician of Seconds Before Landing. “I believe that the science fiction aspect, along with the stellar musical style that we’ve put together, really sets a tone and a feel for what people will get out of this album.”

Along with Crispino, The Great Deception features a wide cast of musical and vocal talents, who lend their sounds to the album in unique ways. Among the guest musicians are Trey Gunn, Warr Guitarist for the progressive rock band King Crimson and Tim Bogert, former Bassist for notable 1960’s and 70’s rock groups Vanilla Fudge, Cactus, and Beck, Bogert & Appice. Together with Crispino, these world-class musicians have crafted an ambient sound that lends itself to the identity of Seconds Before Landing.

Seconds Before Landing is a project by Crispino and showcases his entirely original work. The group’s first album, The Great Deception, was mastered by two-time Grammy Nominee Andy Jackson, engineer of legendary group Pink Floyd.

“I had the opportunity to work with some musical legends, as well as a number of rising talents during the production of this album,” said Crispino. “I’m proud of what we’ve all accomplished. This album is the culmination of hard work and I’m proud to finally call it completed.”

To learn more about the band, the musicians or to experience the full concept behind The Great Deception, please visit


Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14